Carroll County Domestic Violence Attorney

Carroll County, Maryland takes all types of domestic violence very seriously, offering 24-hour hotlines and extensive treatment and recovery programs for all kinds of abuse. This approach leads to potentially heavy penalties for a conviction in a domestic violence case. If you have been charged with domestic violence, you can benefit from the experience of a Carroll County domestic violence lawyer to help you navigate through the intricacies of the investigation and trial process. Your knowledgeable attorney will answer any questions you have and help craft a defense strategy designed to secure the best possible outcome for your case.

A Carroll County Domestic Violence Lawyer Can Help

The term “domestic violence” can include a wide variety of potential charges and crimes, including:

Additionally, while emotional and psychological abuse are not considered criminal offenses, a court may be swayed by accusations of such non-criminal abuse in a domestic violence case.

Penalties for Domestic Violence Convictions

Maryland state law allows for severe penalties in cases of domestic violence. Depending on the nature of the offense, you may face a protective order, hefty fines, and jail time. Domestic violence does not always include physical harm or contact. If physical violence is involved, however, it will fall into one of the following categories:

  • First Degree Assault: First degree assault is the most severe category of domestic violence and covers crimes in which the perpetrator used a firearm to commit the crime, the victim’s life was put at risk, or the perpetrator intentionally injured or caused permanent harm to the victim. Convictions may be classified either as misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the circumstances. Penalties for a first degree domestic violence conviction can be extremely heavy making contact with a Carroll County domestic violence lawyer all the more important. If convicted of a felony, you could face up to 25 years in jail in addition to fines, probation, and other lesser penalties.
  • Second Degree Assault: Under Maryland Criminal Code § 3-203, Maryland state law describes second degree assault as encompassing all cases of unwanted physical contact, regardless of whether injury occurs. Most second degree assault charges as classified as misdemeanors. Assault on a police officer or parole officer, however, may be classified as a felony. In either case, a conviction still carries the potential for significant, life-altering penalties including a possible jail sentence of ten years and a $5,000 fine.
  • Reckless Endangerment: Under Maryland Criminal Code 3-204 A person may not recklessly engage in conduct that creates a substantial risk of death or serious physical injury to another; or discharge a firearm from a motor vehicle in a manner that creates a substantial risk of death or serious physical injury to another. Penalties for a person who violates this section is guilty of the misdemeanor of reckless endangerment and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 5 years or a fine not exceeding $5,000 or both.

Contacting a Carroll County Domestic Violence Attorney

If you have been charged with domestic violence in Carroll County, retaining the services of a knowledgeable, experienced domestic violence lawyer will prove invaluable both in helping you understand the details of your case and in affording the best chance of reducing or dropping the charges. If you are facing a protective order, your attorney can help dispute the order’s legitimacy. Regardless of the circumstances surrounding your case, a Carroll County domestic violence lawyer will protect your rights under the law and help create the best possible defense for your case.