Possession of Prohibited Dangerous Weapons in Maryland
The possession of prohibited dangerous weapons in Maryland laws will cite an individual for everything possible. If an individual has a loaded gun, they will cite them not only for carrying the gun itself but for having a loaded gun and ammunition. Possession of prohibited dangerous weapons in Maryland does not just consider the criminal articles because the public safety articles are also contributing factors.
If you are being charged with possession of prohibited dangerous weapons in Maryland, a skilled gun possession lawyer can represent you during your case. A Maryland gun lawyer will have the knowledge of local laws that may be necessary to getting your desired outcome.
Maryland Weapon Laws
Possession of prohibited dangerous weapons in Maryland conspiracy charges would allude to the fact that there was more than one person that may be involved in this particular act or action, and that the pairing of persons or the inclusion of many persons would be part of a more collaborative effort to bring illegal weapons or ammunition into the State of Maryland.
Maryland’s definition of assault weapons also includes a copycat weapon. Many things considered semi-automatic are often prohibited, like an AK-47.
- an AR-180-type
- a barrel-lite 50 caliber
- semi-automatic rifle
- Colt AR-15s
- Colt AR-15s Sporter
Unfortunately, possession is quite literal and possession may be termed in one of two ways; actual physical possession or constructive, meaning that it was within a person’s reach even if it was within a confined space that they had full access to. Possession of prohibited dangerous weapons in Maryland laws start out with a three-year maximum with 30 days minimum unless a person gets a probation before judgment, which allows a judge to keep the person out of jail or suspend the term itself.
Assault with a Dangerous Weapon
In addition to possession of prohibited dangerous weapons in Maryland, an assault with long guns includes a list of 45 specified firearms or copies. There are 15 specific firearms that count as assault pistons or other copies and variations of those models that make the list. Depending on the specific crime, an individual has to look at just what the aggravating factors are.
Assault in the first degree would be the use of a firearm, which is going to bump the penalty up. People have to look at how or where the weapon was located on the person or where was it found on the scene. If for instance, a person is accused of assault in the second and first degrees and had a gun, the assault charge becomes a felony charge. The 10 years can jump up to as high as 25. Under Maryland’s Criminal Section 4124, an individual is prohibited from using a handgun during a crime of violence.
If a person is charged with abduction and arson in the first degree, assault in the first or second degree, burglary in the first, second or third degree, carjacking, armed carjacking, escaped kidnapping, or voluntary manslaughter, those would be examples of crimes of violence. The most common ones are murder, rape, robbery, sexual offenses, and home invasions. All of these things can lead to higher criminal penalties.
Working with a Maryland Attorney
People facing possession of prohibited dangerous weapons in Maryland should be aware of the 45 different guns and 15 specified firearms. A lawyer helping a client can go through each one to make sure that it is not prohibited. If a gun is prohibited and a person has it on their person, the state’s attorney is going to be very convinced that the individual has to go to jail because the individual has a legal weapon. They would consider that person a threat to the greater community and public safety. Working with a Maryland attorney may be vital to the future outcome of your case.