FREE Case Evaluation
[stapolin_as_form]

Ellicott City DUI Lawyer

Facing a DUI charge in Howard County can be one of the most stressful and frightening experiences a person ever has to deal with. Whether it’s the first time you’ve ever faced criminal charges or a second or subsequent DUI allegation, the stakes are incredibly high.

Work with an Ellicott City DUI lawyer if you want to take proactive steps in your own best interest. By retaining experienced legal representation, you’re sending a message that you will fight to protect your rights and that you’re taking the charges against you seriously. Call an Ellicott City criminal lawyer today to complete your free legal consultation and learn how to get started working on your case.

DUI Charges in Maryland

Unlike some driving while impaired (DWI) charges, a DUI in Maryland is based on a blood alcohol content (BAC) reading. If a driver’s BAC registers at or above a 0.08 percent, this automatically constitutes a DUI under the law.

A BAC between 0.07 and 0.08 is considered a DWI, while a BAC of less than 0.07 can only be considered a DWI in the presence of other evidence indicating alcohol or drug impairment.

Your DUI attorney in Ellicott City can challenge the BAC results, however, if you believe they are inaccurate. Our Maryland DUI attorneys have a great deal of experience analyzing the effectiveness of portable breath test (PBT) and Intoxylizer readings. They understand how to explain the many potential sources of error to judges and juries in a way that can seriously challenge the validity of BAC readings.

Potential DUI Consequences

The penalty for a DUI in Maryland is up to one year in jail and $1000 in fines. The penalty doubles, however, to up to two years in jail and $2000 in fines if a minor was present in the vehicle at the time of the DUI arrest. The same doubled penalty applies if the driver has a prior conviction for the same or a similar alcohol or drug-related driving offense.

Enhanced penalties for subsequent convictions become increasingly harsh with each offense. A driver who was transporting a minor and who had three prior related convictions is subject to a potential $4000 fine and four years in prison.

Mandatory Penalties

In addition to the heightened penalties drivers may receive for subsequent charges following prior convictions, drivers face mandatory minimum penalties when they are convicted of two similar offenses within a certain time period, under Maryland Code 27-101.

Two DUI convictions within five years triggers a mandatory minimum of five days in jail, and three convictions within five years calls for at least ten days in jail.

In addition, those drivers convicted of multiple DUIs within five years must complete an alcohol abuse assessment and educational program, as mandated by the court. No matter how many DUIs or DWIs you have dealt with in the past, our Ellicott City DUI lawyers can help.

Consulting With An Experienced DUI Lawyer in Ellicott City

Whatever the circumstances that led to your DUI arrest, your Ellicott City DUI attorney can represent your best interests and be by your side throughout the legal process to ensure that your case is being handed properly. Contact our Howard County law offices to schedule your free consultation today.