FREE Case Evaluation
[stapolin_as_form]

Maryland Car Insurance Requirements

One of the unpleasant parts of driving a motor vehicle in Maryland is that you have to buy auto insurance. The law requires all drivers to be insured and failure to have proper insurance can result in serious legal penalties, including license suspension or possibly even revocation. To find out more about your obligations under Maryland law, keep reading.

Maryland Minimum Coverage

There are hundreds of different auto insurance companies and myriad options to choose from when purchasing insurance for your motor vehicle. It is important that you are covered under a plan that meets the Maryland guidelines imposed on every driver. To meet the Maryland insurance standards, your policy must comply with the following minimum requirements:

  • $30,000 in coverage for bodily injury per person; Car Insurance Requirements in Maryland
  • $60,000 in coverage for bodily injury for two or more people; and
  • $15,000 in coverage for property damage.

In order to be considered compliant with the rules governing Maryland roadways and the drivers who use them, your auto insurance coverage must at least meet, if not exceed, these coverage levels. If you are caught driving with no insurance, or insurance that does not meet these standards, the penalties can be severe and can impact your ability to continue to drive in the future.

Penalties

Uninsured or underinsured drivers risk serious consequences including hefty fines and even jail terms. In Maryland, if a driver refuses to comply with the state’s insurance requirements then he or she will face some serious penalties, including the following:

  • Loss of a license plate and vehicle registration privileges;
  • Penalty fees associated with uninsured motorists — $150 for the first 30 days and $7 each day thereafter;
  • Restoration fees before being allowed to receive a new vehicle registration; and
  • Fines of up to $1,000 and a year in jail for providing false evidence of insurance.

You would be wise to avoid these types of penalties, but many people do not know about Maryland’s auto insurance requirements and may not meet the standards. A seasoned criminal defense attorney can help you understand the requirements set out in the Maryland Code regarding auto insurance requirements and help you explore your defense options if you happen to be accused of driving without insurance.

Maryland Traffic Lawyer

If you are a driver in the state of Maryland and you are caught driving without having the proper car insurance, you may be facing harsh penalties that could severely impact your driving privileges. Navigating the Maryland traffic court system can be daunting and confusing, especially if this is your first run-in with law enforcement. Contacting a well-qualified traffic lawyer is your best bet for avoiding the consequences of a conviction. Skilled defense attorney Seth Okin has extensive experience defending people who are accused various traffic violations, including driving without insurance. For a free case evaluation, call is Maryland law office today at (410) 782-0742 and find out what your options are.