Glen Burnie Assault Lawyer
Assault charges in Glen Burnie are serious offenses. These charges often result in time behind bars upon a conviction. What’s more, the impact on your personal and professional reputation could receive damage that could never be undone. If you are facing assault charges, it is imperative that you seek the help of a seasoned criminal defense attorney right away.
Assault cases could be challenging for the state to prove in many cases. When the charge stems from a large altercation, the state could have difficulty identifying witnesses or other evidence. Despite a lack of evidence, police are often quick to make an arrest for an assault charge. You could benefit from the assistance of a Glen Burnie assault lawyer regardless of whether you are a victim of a rush to judgment or not.
Assault Charges in Glen Burnie
An assault arrest could result in misdemeanor or felony charges depending on the circumstances. These charges typically fall into two categories: first-degree assault and second-degree assault. Additionally, there are special charges for assaulting a correctional officer. Regardless of the specific charge, a Glen Burnie assault attorney could help the accused fight back against their charges.
First Degree Assault
First degree assault is a felony charge. According to Maryland Criminal Code Section 3-202, it carries a maximum penalty of 25 years in prison. There are two ways a defendant could be convicted under this statute. First, intentionally causing or attempting to cause serious physical injury to another person constitutes first degree assault. State law defines serious physical injury as any substantial risk of permanent or fatal injuries.
The second theory prosecutors could use with a first degree assault charge involves the use of firearms. Any assault that involves weapons like handguns, shotguns, or rifles constitutes a first degree assault. This is true without the need to prove a risk of serious physical injury.
Second Degree Assault
Maryland Criminal Code 3-203 outlines the elements of second degree assault. A conviction under this statute could carry ten years in prison, a maximum fine of up to $2,500, or a combination of both.
Second degree assault is a misdemeanor. It occurs when a person intentionally causes when a person offensively touches another person or places them in imminent fear of harm.
Assault on a Corrections Officer
Maryland Criminal Code 3-205 deals with assaults by inmates to law enforcement officers. It is reserved for prisoners that are incarcerated that target on-duty law enforcement. The statute spells out that intentionally causing a law enforcement officer to come into contact with bodily fluids like urine or feces constitutes an assault offense. A violation carries up to 10 years behind bars.
When a person engages in behavior that places other at serious risk of harm, they could be charged with reckless endangerment. This offense, while regarded as a misdemeanor, carries with it a maximum sentence of up to five years of incarcerated time and a $5,000 fine. Examples of this offense could include the discharging of a firearm, negligent, high speed use of a vehicle, or placing a child in a precarious environment.
Assault crimes are defensible in many situations. While there is no foolproof defense in every case, many accused of an assault crime have a strong defense based on the factors of their arrest. Common defenses used by Glen Burnie assault attorneys include:
- Mistaken identity
- Defense of others
- Lack of intent
Contact a Glen Burnie Assault Attorney Right Away
An arrest on an assault charge could lead to sleepless nights and constant worry. However, an arrest does not guarantee that you would be convicted. Police make arrests in weak cases all the time. It is possible you have a strong defense in your assault case as well.
To get started on building your defense, contact a Glen Burnie assault lawyer right away. Your lawyer could evaluate your case and identify the strongest defenses available.