FREE Case Evaluation
[stapolin_as_form]

Prince George’s DWI Lawyer

In the state of Maryland, there are several different kinds of alcohol and drug-related driving charges. The type and severity of the charge that you’re facing can hinge on a number of factors, including breath test readings, field sobriety test performance, and even the officer’s own subjective judgment. If you have been charged with DWI in Maryland, it is in your best interest to consult an experienced Prince George’s County driving while impaired lawyer as soon as possible to learn about your rights.

While Maryland takes driving while impaired very seriously and imposes severe sentences in some cases, our Prince George’s County criminal defense team can pursue reduced charges and penalties on your behalf, up to and including a complete dismissal of those charges. Call our law offices today to set up your free consultation.

Driving While Impaired Charges in Maryland

There are four main kinds of alcohol-related driving charges that a driver in Maryland may face. Driving under the influence (DUI) is the most serious charge, and deals only with drunk-driving offenses. Driving while impaired can apply to driving while impaired by alcohol, drugs (or a combination of alcohol or drugs), or another dangerous substance and is governed under Maryland Code 21-902.

A blood alcohol level of between 0.07 percent and 0.08 percent constitutes a DWI charge under the law, while a BAC of 0.08 or above automatically results in a DUI charge. Drivers may still receive a DWI charge with a BAC of between 0.05 and 0.07, but additional evidence would be required to show the driver was in fact impaired by the alcohol in his or her system.

Regardless of what your BAC levels registered as, your Prince George’s County driving while impaired attorney can help by determining the validity of the evidence against you, especially when the prosecutor’s case relies on the subjective perceptions of the arresting officer.

Penalties for Driving While Impaired

Driving while impaired by alcohol or drugs in Maryland is a misdemeanor conviction carrying a penalty of up to $500 in fines and two months in jail. Subsequent convictions, however, carry increasingly harsh penalties, with a second conviction for a drug or alcohol-related driving offense resulting in up to $1000 in fines and six months in jail.

Enhanced penalties are also triggered when there is a minor in the vehicle at the time of the arrest, resulting in up to $2000 in fines and one year in jail. If you were driving with a minor in your car and were charged with driving while impaired, you will need immediate legal advice.

Whether this is your first alcohol or drug-related driving charge or not, it is crucial that you consult a Prince George’s County driving while impaired lawyer right away.

Finding the Right Attorney for You

No matter what type of DWI offense you have been charged with, your P.G. County driving while impaired lawyer can examine the evidence against you and determine whether you were fairly charged. Our Maryland DUI lawyers can analyze the circumstances of your arrest and make sure your rights were not violated, and they can continue to protect those rights throughout the entire legal process. Call today to get started.