FREE Case Evaluation
[stapolin_as_form]

Maryland Driving While Impaired Lawyer

In Maryland, a DWI stands for driving while impaired by alcohol or drugs. While this offense is the lesser of the two alcohol and drug-related driving charges in Maryland – the more serious charge being a DUI, or driving under the influence – neither offense should be taken lightly.

If you or someone you care about has been charged with DWI offense, you will need to consult an experienced Maryland DWI lawyer as soon as possible, since it carries the potential for jail time, hefty fines, and points against your driver’s license. An attorney in Maryland will be able to look at the facts of your case and advise you on the best course of action to take. Call today to schedule a free consultation.

DWI vs. DUI BAC Limits

Drivers may be charged with a DWI with a blood alcohol content level as low as 0.04 percent, and drivers with a BAC of 0.08 percent or above will automatically be charged with the higher-level offense of DUI. Minors with a BAC as low as 0.02 percent may also face a DUI.

The blood content limits for drugs and controlled substances vary depending on the type of drug in question, though even legally prescribed substances can land a driver in danger of being charged with either type of alcohol or drug-related driving offense, depending on the circumstances.

Whether you are facing a DWI or a DUI charge, your Maryland DWI lawyer can look out for your best interests and guide you through the legal process .

DWI Charge in Maryland

If you were charged with DWI under Maryland Code 21-902 and your alleged BAC level registered on the lower end of the spectrum, your Maryland DWI lawyer can investigate whether the officer made an appropriate judgment in arresting you. Typically, the prosecutor has a stronger case against drivers accused of raising suspicion of DWI due to erratic behavior, illegal driving maneuvers, a failed field sobriety test, or the smell of alcohol on the driver’s breath. If the arresting officer had no real cause to test your BAC in the first place or did not follow proper procedures in conducting field sobriety tests, for instance, your Maryland DWI attorney can challenge whether you should have been arrested at all.

Maryland DWI Penalties

A DWI in Maryland carries serious penalties, including up to two months in jail and a fine of up to $500 for the most basic DWI offense, as well as 8 points on the driver’s license – as opposed to 12 points for a DUI and instant license revocation.

Subsequent offenses carry harsher penalties, such as up to a year in jail and $500 in fines for a second DWI, and up to one year in jail and $2000 fine if the accused has a previous DWI conviction and a minor was in the vehicle at the time of the arrest. A DWI charge based on allegations of being impaired by a so-called “dangerous” controlled substance carries even more severe penalties.

Consult an Experienced Maryland DWI Lawyer

If you are concerned about your driving record due to allegations of driving while impaired by alcohol or drugs, an experienced Maryland DWI lawyer can help.  Your Maryland DWI attorney can investigate the circumstances of your arrest and whether the charges against you were improper or unfair.