FREE Case Evaluation
[stapolin_as_form]

How Long Does a DUI or DWI Conviction Last?

DUI Conviction in MDIf you’ve suffered through a drunk driving conviction, either a DWI or a DUI, you are likely eager to put that difficult period of your life behind you. Most anyone with a drunk driving conviction on their record wants to know when, if ever, the crime can be wiped off their record.

Unfortunately for those individuals in Maryland who simply want to move on with their lives, there is no way to totally expunge a DWI or DUI conviction from your criminal record. This sadly means that drunk driving convictions will always be accessible by law enforcement officials and others who conduct detailed background checks.

While this may seem like terrible news, there is a small consolation. Though the record can never be officially expunged, the good thing is that DUI or DWI convictions may be eligible for probation before judgment if the second offense occurred 10 or more years after the original drunk driving conviction. However, it is important to note that this can only be granted at the discretion of the judge.

How Long Will I Lose My License After A Maryland Drunk Driving Conviction?

One of the most common questions asked by those who have been charged with a Maryland drunk driving conviction is how long they will have to endure not being able to drive. Though it may seem like a small problem, the reality is that most people need a car to manage their day-to-day responsibilities including work, family and education. To find out more about what happens to your license keep reading.

If you are arrested for a DUI, chances are the officer will confiscate your license immediately. If you take no other actions the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) will automatically move to suspend your driving privileges 46 days after your initial arrest.

So how long will the DUI suspension last?

If you submitted to a chemical test at the time of your DUI arrest and your blood alcohol concentration was between 0.08-.15 and this arrest makes your first such offense in five years then you will most likely have your license suspended for 90 days or will be required to participate in the ignition interlock program for 6 months.

If you submitted to a chemical test and your BAC came back above 0.15 percent for a DUI, then your license will likely be suspended by the MVA for 180 days or an ignition interlock period of 1 year. Second offenses come with longer suspensions, usually 270 days and an ignition interlock period of 1 year.

The final category of drivers include those who refused to submit to a chemical test. These drivers can expect a suspension of up to 270-days and mandatory participation in the ignition interlock program for 1 year. Repeat offenders will likely endure longer suspensions and for a third or subsequent offense will be required to have an ignition interlock for 3 years.

How Long Do Points Stay On My Maryland Driving Record?

If you’ve received points on your Maryland driving record due to traffic violations you have likely experienced how these points can negatively impact your life. Even if you did not receive enough points to result in a suspended or revoked license, you likely dealt with the sting of higher insurance premiums. So when will these points go away?

In Maryland, the law says that points will stay on your driving record for three years from the violation date. That means these records appear on your public record and are visible to your insurance company and even potential employers for three full years.

Though these points remain part of your public profile for three years, points actually remain on your driving record until they are officially expunged by the MVA. This means that unless your points are specifically removed from your record they will remain hidden from public view forever. Don’t worry though; the laws say that points are only considered “current” points that count against your record for two years after the violation date.