FREE Case Evaluation
[stapolin_as_form]

Frederick County DUI Lawyer

A conviction of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol carries a high price in Frederick County, Maryland. From fines and jail time to potential lawsuits, a DUI charge can damage your pocketbook as well as your reputation. If you have been accused of drunk driving, contact an experienced Frederick County DUI lawyer to help you reduce your charges.

DUI Laws in Frederick County

Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) in Maryland is defined as operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or higher, unless you are under the age of 21. At this level, the average individual’s thinking and response times are dangerously impaired, especially when driving a car on a busy road.

Maryland law also allows for a charge of driving while impaired (DWI) if your blood alcohol content is .07%. If you fail a field sobriety test, but your BAC is not high enough for a DUI charge, the officer may arrest you for DWI, which although being typically considered a less severe charge, still carries serious consequences to where a Frederick County DUI lawyer should be contacted.

If you have been pulled over on suspicion of DUI, you may be asked to perform a series of field sobriety tests—including walking in a straight line or standing on one leg. You have the right to refuse these tests. However, if you refuse the breathalyzer test at the police station, your license will be suspended under implied consent laws.

Additionally if you are a commercial driver, you may face even stricter standards regarding intoxication and should therefore consult with a Frederick County CDL DUI lawyer immediately if accused or charged.

Penalties for DUI or DWI

If you are convicted of a DUI charge, you could face jail time, fines, and a suspended license. Consequences increase if you have previous convictions within the past five years:

  • First Offense: Maximum penalties include one year in prison, a $1,000 fine, and a suspended license (for at least six months)
  • Second Offense: Maximum penalties include two years in prison, a $2,000 fine, and a one-year license suspension
  • Third Offense: Maximum penalties include three years in prison, a $3,000 fine, and a license suspension (for at least 18 months)

Multiple offenses may also result in a court-ordered ignition interlock device (IID) being placed on your vehicle. The IID will prevent your vehicle from starting if you fail an alcohol breath test.

Penalties for DWI also include jail time, fines, and license suspension. Jail time and fines are typically not as severe as those incurred for DUI.

Why You Need a Frederick County DUI Lawyer

An experienced Frederick County DUI lawyer can help to reduce or dismiss the charges against you. Your attorney will scrutinize each aspect of your case, including the arrest itself, the administration of any field sobriety tests, possible prejudice on the part of the arresting officer, and other details that may prove beneficial to your defense.

The thought of standing in front of a judge can be intimidating. Your Frederick County DUI lawyer will help you present a persuasive argument in the courtroom with the goal of delivering the best possible outcome for your case. If you have been charged with DUI or DWI, contact a Frederick County DUI lawyer to talk about how to plan your defense and determine the best course of action.