FREE Case Evaluation
[stapolin_as_form]

Carroll County DUI Lawyer

DUI Lawyer in Carroll County If you have been charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) in Carroll County, your search for a good DUI lawyer should take the highest priority. The Maryland court system does not take drunk driving lightly; penalties can be swift and strict. Working with a reputable Carroll County DUI lawyer who is well versed in Maryland statutes and experienced in actual DUI court cases will aid you in understanding the charges you face. Your Carroll County DUI attorney can also advise you on the steps you need to take in preparation for a legal battle.

DUI in Carroll County

To be guilty of DUI, it must be demonstrated that your blood alcohol content was .08 or higher at the time of the violation. The arresting officer will usually conduct a field sobriety test to determine whether your physical capabilities are impaired. Your Carroll County DUI lawyer may be able to demonstrate that these tests were incorrectly administered, that the officer was prejudiced against you, or that you have an inherent physical limitation that caused you to fail the test.

Penalties for a DUI in Maryland

Penalties for a DUI conviction may include the following:

  • First offense: Six-month license suspension, maximum of one year in jail, and maximum $1,000 fine.
  • Second offense: One-year license suspension, maximum of two years in jail, and maximum $2,000 fine.
  • Third offense: 18-month license suspension, maximum of three years in jail, and maximum $3,000 fine.

Many factors influence the court’s decision when determining the sentence for a DUI conviction. One of the most important factors is your previous history. If you have previous DUI convictions on your record, it is even more important that you contact a Carroll County DUI lawyer as you will face a stricter sentence than a first-time offender. At times, judges also consider whether a defendant has undergone any substance abuse treatment prior to the beginning of the trial or attended AA/NA meetings. In some cases, even the amount or type of treatment has been taken into account—with more aggressive treatment plans leading the court to hand down a lighter sentence.
A DWI charge, which stipulates a blood alcohol content of between .07 and .08, may result in 60 days in jail, a $500 fine, and a six-month license suspension for a first offense.

It is important to note that these are the maximum possible penalties. The judge will determine your sentence based on the details of your particular case, as well as the factors listed above.

The Importance of Legal Counsel

If you have been charged with DUI, a seasoned Carroll County DUI lawyer can help you. You do not have to simply accept the charges. Your lawyer can examine the details surrounding your arrest and help you craft a defense strategy designed to have the charges reduced or dropped. Given the complexity of Maryland DUI laws and court proceedings, hiring an expert Carroll County DUI lawyer will give you the best chance of a successful and positive outcome in your case.